Owner & Accounts

Trish

TRISH

Here’s a little about myself:

I was Born and raised in the Moama/Echuca area, on the border of New South Wales and Victoria. Among other things, the area is famous for its paddle steamers. These ferried people and goods from all through the Murray, Darling and Murrumbidgee River systems, to Echuca, the closest point to Melbourne on the Murray. Today Echuca still boasts the largest paddle steamer fleet in the world, which includes the “Alexander Arbuthnot”. The last working  steamer, which was raised from the bottom of the river in 1972, now carries tourists on small excursions.

Although we were a “low income” family, my life was very interesting.

My parents are the reason I have a strong value on life. My Dad was a Drover, and also rode “Buck Jumpers” and Bulls at Rodeo’s around Victoria, and the lower half of New South. As kids, we looked forward to the Rodeo’s with excitement. We’d scurry under the grandstands, retrieving bottles, to purchase rides on the side shows or get show bags.

We often traveled for days to reach a rodeo which offered a modest prize. Sleeping in the back of our old Blue Ford Prefect, or under the stars. In 1990 dad took part in the great Alice Springs to Carrara Camel Race. He was 17th, so didn’t get any prize money to take home… just memories, and the thrill of participating.

But of course, Droving was his main passion.

Until 2018, there was an annual reunion at the Stockman’s Hall of Fame, in Longreach. Back in the day, drovers herded cattle along the grass verge of the road. These used to be about 100m wide, and stretched for thousands of miles. It was these grass verges that were referred to as the “long paddock”. A couple of years back Michael and I were lucky enough to accompany him to Longreach and met some of his mates.

As for pets… well we had dogs and cats, but also Donkeys, Camels, Emus, Kangaroos, swans, sheep and a pig called “Sally”. Along with a talking Magpie and Rosella. As money was so scarce, I remember dad would barter with enthusiasm where-ever he could. Perhaps a days’ farm labour in exchange for meat, or even shoeing a horse for some fence materials. Our lifestyle led to him knowing people from all “walks of life”, and from every corner of Australia. It wasn’t uncommon for us to have visitors drop in, to spend time around the kitchen table and have a cuppa and chat.

I started work at the age of 13 in a corner store, having to balance my job, school and chores at home. Then, just one week before my 15th birthday, I landed my first real job working at a shoe store. But after 7 years I had the “itch” to travel, and did so on my own for 12 months, without ever leaving the shores of Australia. On returning home I worked as a Steward at the Moama Bowling Club, for 12 years.

Michael and I met 12 months later moved to his home town Nelson in New Zealand. I soon secured a job, working behind the bar at the Army Garrison Club. I also volunteered at an aged care rest home, 3 afternoons a week as this was my passion. Eight years later when Michael became redundant from the Conservation Department. We relocated to Blenheim, were I achieved a position working and studying in Aged Care.

Returning to Australia, we chose Hervey Bay to be our home, where I worked at Bay Haven until shortly before it closed. At that point in our lives purchasing Masterlink Computers seemed like the next obvious step to secure our future.

As you can see technology hasn’t been a “big player” in my life story. But I think that’s given me perspective, and allows me to understand and appreciate the issues our customers experience. I’ve seen first hand, from my own dad, who has virtually zero exposure to computers and other forms of technology. Now trying to cope with automation, and being told he will need to learn how to use a mobile phone.

Well that’s my story. If you need to book in your computer. Or even just want to pop in for a quick chat. You’re always welcome.