Bio – Trish

TRISH

A little about myself:

I was Born and raised in the Moama/Echuca area, on the border of New South Wales and Victoria. Amongst other things, the area is famous for its paddle steamers which used to ferry people and goods from all through the Murray, Darling and Murrumbidgee River systems, to Echuca – the closest point to Melbourne on the Murray. Today Echuca still boasts the largest paddle steamer fleet in the world, which includes the “Alexander Arbuthnot”. The last working paddle steamer, which was raised from the bottom of the river in 1972 and now carries tourists on small excursions.

Although we were a “low income” family, my life was very interesting. My parents are the reason I have a strong value on life. My Dad was a Drover, and also rode “Buck Jumpers” and Bulls at Rodeo’s around Victoria and the lower half of New South. As kids, we looked forward to the Rodeo’s, we’d scurry under the grandstands, retrieving bottles, so we could have rides on the side shows or get show bags.

We would often travel for days to reach a rodeo which offered a modest prize, sleeping in the back of our old Blue Ford Prefect or under the stars. In 1990 dad took part in the Alice Springs to Carrara NSW Camel Race. He came in 17th, so didn’t get any prize money to take home… just memories.

But of course, Droving was his main occupation. Until this year, there was an annual reunion at the Stockman’s Hall of Fame in Longreach. Back in the day, drovers herded cattle along the grass verge of the road, these used to be about 100m wide and stretched for thousands of kilometres along our roads. It was these grass verges that were referred to as the “long paddock”. A couple of years back we were lucky enough to accompany him to Longreach and met some of his mates.

As for pets… well we had dogs and cats but also Donkeys, Camels, Emus, Kangaroos, swans, sheep and a pig called “Sally”, along with a talking Magpie and Rosella. As money was so scarce, I remember dad would barter where-ever he could. Perhaps a days’ farm labouring for some meat or maybe shoeing a horse in exchange for some fencing materials. This lifestyle led to him knowing people from all “walks of life” and from every corner of Australia. It wasn’t uncommon for us to have visitors drop in, to spend time around the kitchen table for a cuppa and a chat
I started work at the age of 13 in a corner store, juggling my job, school and chores at home. Then, just one week before my 15th birthday, I got my first real job working at a shoe store. But after 7 years I got the “itch” to travel, and did so on my own for 12 months, without ever leaving the shores of Australia. On returning home I worked as a Steward at the Moama Bowling Club, for 12 years.

I then met Michael and 12 months later moved to his home town Nelson in New Zealand. I soon secured a job, working behind the bar at the Army Garrison Club at night. I also volunteered at an aged care rest home, 3 afternoons a week. Eight years later when Michael became redundant from the Conservation Department, we relocated to Blenheim, were I gained a position working and studying in Aged Care.

Returning to Australia, we chose Hervey Bay to be our home, where I worked at Bay Haven until shortly before it closed. At that point in our lives purchasing Masterlink Computers seemed like the next obvious step

As you can see technology hasn’t been a “big player” in my life story. But I think that’s given me perspective, and allows me to understand and appreciate the issues our customers experience. I’ve seen first hand, from my own dad, who has virtually zero exposure to computers and other forms of technology. Now trying to cope with automation, and being told he will need to learn how to use a mobile phone.

Well that’s my story. If you need to book in your computer. Or even just want to pop in for a quick chat. You’re always welcome.